14 octobre 2017

University of Essex – History and brief presentation

The University of Essex is an English university located in Essex and divided into three different campuses: Colchester, Southend, and Loughton. In total, the university counts 13 194 students, with among them 14% from the rest of the EU and 22% from the rest of the world.With these figures, the University of Essex is the 15th most international university in the world. Overall, the Essex University is ranked 22nd in the United Kingdom by The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2018.

Historically speaking, it all started in 1964 when the University welcomed 122 students for its first year. From this date, more than 100 000 students from 140 countries have graduated. Among them can be found famous names, such as two Nobel Prize winners: Professor Chris Pissarides and Oscar Arias Sanchez (aka the former president of Costa Rica). David Yates, one of the Harry Potters director, has also studied and graduated at the University of Essex.

Its motto is ‘Thought the harder, heart the keener’, which is an adaptation of the Anglo-Saxon poem ‘The Battle of Maldon’. The original line writes ‘Thought must be the harder, heart the keener, mood the more, as our might lessens.’

The University of Essex is also an active company, with more than 2 100 people employed, giving everyone opportunities for careers. Societies are also a significant part of the student life at the Essex University, with over a hundred of them. 

But the University of Essex is also a difficult-to-forget campus. Indeed, you would hear many times that the campus of Colchester is nothing but a maze. Located in Wivenhoe Park, walking around the campus feels like wandering in a theme park, with a different building at every corner. Each building has a unique architecture (apart from the residential towers), and there is constantly a contrast between old and modern premises. essex

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *